SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
winnjoe

pumice substitute

winnjoe
14 years ago

Hi

I am looking for horticultural grade pumice but cannot find it. I have a bag of 'lava' stones for a gas barbecue, never used. If I crush them to the right size can that be used?

Joe

Comments (33)

• Jack Reynolds
    14 years ago

Before you go crushing up all that lava rock call around to your local feed stores and ask for a product called Dry Stall. It is agricultural grade pumice and comes in 40 lb. bags for about $7 I think. I have been using it for several years here in CA. Feed stores sell it to horse people to spread down in stalls to absorb moisture. The particle size is about 1/8". I wash mine to remove the fines and it works perfectly in my bonsai and succulent soil mix.

• greenman28 NorCal 7b/8a
    14 years ago

Pumice should be easy to find...easier than finding appropriate pine/fir bark fines, anyway....

Of course, you *can* crush large lava rocks....but you'll end up with a lot of dust and waste.

Napa Auto Parts carries a product #8822 (I believe) that is similar to Turface and pumice.

Josh

• Related Discussions

Using Pumice in Gritty Mix

Q

Comments (18)