SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
shic_2006

Chabaud Carnation

shic_2006
18 years ago

I live in central NY. We have cold/cloudy winters. I sowed a bag of Chabaud Carnation seeds into tree pots last Friday. I see some green seedlings this morning. The temperature is about 50. I covered the pots with plastic films because I cannot water the pot. That would mess up the 0.5 inch covering soil and the small seeds. I dont know if I should remove the film now. I donÂt want the small seedlings to dry up. I never planted them indoors before. I know they love full sun. I donÂt know if it is feasible to keep them as indoor potted plants. I also would like to know why people only use them for the first year. Do they produce few flowers after the first year? How to make their flowers larger?

Comments (7)

• bellegallica
    18 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

Shic,

I'm just starting out with these myself. I posted a question about them on "The Cutting Garden" forum and someone named Trish wrote back a very informative response.

I'm in Zone 8. My seedlings are outside. I really don't know how to answer your question about what to do with your seedlings except to suggest that you can grow them indoor for a while, but you'd probably need some growing lights unless you have a very bright window with /full sun/Southern or Southwestern exposure.

Good luck, and don't forget to check the respone to my post at the The Cutting Garden Forum.

• ghoghunter
    18 years ago