SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
sandyslopes

Growing larger onions

What do you fertilize your onions with to form the biggest bulbs? How often do you apply?

I’ve also heard growing from seed produces bigger onions than growing from sets. Have you found that to be true?

Comments (36)

• 26 days ago
    last modified: 26 days ago

I've been growing 1015 sweet onions (short day) for many years. In the past, I hadn't done any fertilization, and gotten decent sized (~3/4 lb) bulbs. This year, I salted the soil every three weeks with N fertilizer (ammonium sulfate). Kaboom! Every one of my onions is nearly a pound. Now, my soil is already rich in P and K, so I don't bother to amend with those. But N is highly leachable, and sort of comes and goes.

It is true that growing from seeds (or transplants produced by seeding) produces larger onions than growing from sets, which are tiny dried bulbs from the previous season. Allegedly onions grown from sets are also more likely to be malformed. Sets are also somewhat disadvantageous because there is rarely a good choice of varieties.

sandyslopes z6 n. UT thanked daninthedirt (USDA 9a, HZ9, CentTX, Sunset z30, Cfa)
  • 24 days ago

Thanks for the info! I wanted to hear from someone who's really grown onions. I've read about the ammonium sulfate, but all the reviews were about how green it made lawns look. So I wasn't sure if I should use it on something edible. I'm going to look for that and give it a try. I hope I get the results you're getting!

I grew from seeds, mid- and long day onions and transplanted those. I'm hoping for more than quarter sized onions, which is what I got last year. :-)

• Related Discussions

WANTED: Wanted Onion seed for onion that grows on top of ground

Q

Comments (1)