SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
daninthedirt

disappointing garlic bulb size

daninthedirt (USDA 9a, HZ9, CentTX, Sunset z30, Cfa)
10 months ago
last modified: 10 months ago

I planted my garlic back in November. The cloves came from a nursery, which neglected to say anything about variety, which was sorta stupid on their part. But I planted the large cloves, and they grew well. Very good soil with lots of compost, and adequate water. The leaves have started to die, so I pulled a row, and the bulbs were disappointingly small. Maybe an inch across at best. Is this a deal, like for onions, where the bulbs mostly grow in the last month before harvest, and I just didn't wait long enough? I guess I can wait a month before pulling another row. This is my first year growing garlic, so I'm not sure what to expect. These were planted adjacent to sweet onions, which grew enormous, and are now all harvested. I have some summer veggies on trellises south of this row, so in the last month or two the garlic in this row hasn't gotten a lot of sun.

Comments (42)

• kevin9408
    10 months ago

Pull your garlic when the bottom three leaves have turned brown. Garlic puts on the the bulk of it's size in the last couple weeks and they could just have been pulled to early. So how many leaves starting from the bottom have died out?

• daninthedirt (USDA 9a, HZ9, CentTX, Sunset z30, Cfa)
    Original Author
    10 months ago

That makes sense. On each plant there were at least one or two completely brown leaves, but many leaves were partly brown and had brown strings hanging from them. But as for onions, that's very important to understand that bulbs put on most of their size in the last few weeks.

• Related Discussions

(too) small bulb garlic and onion

Q

Comments (6)