SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
idaalready

Making yeast dough rise

Ida
last year
last modified: last year

I'll preface this by saying that I'm a novice baker but enjoy it from time to time. Since I have a new bread-baking bowl, I'm eager to try some of the recipes I've come across online and yesterday I made banana-walnut bread, which turned out nicely. Today I made cinnamon-raisin bread, and unlike the banana bread, the recipe called for yeast. Since I haven't made bread for some time, I dug out my yeast from the back of the pantry and noticed that its "best before" date was April 2022. Ok, so past that, but I decided to give it a go anyway. First of all, the yeast didn't bloom the way it did the last time I baked -- it bubbled a bit, but never gave off that foamy bubble that I was looking for. I proceeded though, and the dough took forEVER to rise in my kitchen, under optimal conditions. Could it have simply been that the yeast was truly past its prime, to the point of losing so much of its efficacy?
Well, in spite of taking so long and not quite rising as much as I would've liked, the bread tastes amazing. I want to try it again with fresh yeast, though, and I wonder how those of you who are seasoned bakers get your dough to rise flawlessly each and every time?

Comments (53)

• User
    last year

cinnamon inhibits yeast growth. Always store Active Dry Yeast or any other yeast such as Instant yeast in fridge or freezer. Oly is correct about adding a pinch of sugar to bloom yeast make sure water isnt too hot . But i am sure it was the cinnamon.