SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
webuser_355114

Fun Time With Moss

tapla (mid-Michigan, USDA z5b-6a)
2 years ago
last modified: 2 years ago

Anyone who would like to try can start and maintain an indoor moss garden if they wish. It is EXCEPTIONALLY easy because moss will grow on the surface of most media and many materials, and requires little more than the grower keeping it moist (with a daily or twice daily spritz) and perhaps adding a drop or two of fertilizer (I use Foliage-Pro 9-3-6) to a quart of water from any of the following sources: distilled, rain, snow melt, dehumidifier or air conditioner condensate, or water that's been routed through a home reverse osmosis filtration system (what I use).

I started playing with moss outdoors a few years ago because I can't help trying new things. It wasn't someone else's pictures/ work/ ideas that inspired me to see what would happen; rather, I looked at to Mother Nature and reasoned it can't be that difficult since it's virtually everywhere from shady bogs to bare sidewalks in full sun, and I was right. It IS very easy.

Immediately below is something I started about 3 years ago, and this isn't too long after I started it in spring - maybe it's around the beginning of summer because I see there's a Ficus pumila (creeping fig) cutting starting to grow up the right side of a pear stump I dug up after I cut the tree down.

I leave this outdoors during the winter as the planting will reawaken once it warms and gets hit with some rain. I'm not sure why I planted a Ficus on it because I knew it would be outdoors. The next year I took a cutting from a hardy bittersweet vine and added that just for interest, but there is no reason to include anything living other than the moss in the composition. The plants above and below with the somewhat shingled look are liverwort that arrived on its own.