SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
adardich

Advice for keiki and mom with flower spikes

adardich
2 years ago

I have a plant with a keiki but the mother's roots seem almost all dead down in the pot. If you grab the crown you can feel it's all loose in the pot. Mom has a flower spike and 5 new roots sticking straight up on the pictured side and 3 growing down on the other side. Keiki has 3 good roots and a flower spike that will kind of point down if I cut it off and pot it. I live in West Central Florida so the weather is already springish here. I'm very new to orchids. I think I overwatered and killed the roots, then I moved it to a window it likes better and it started recovering like this. I can't figure out what to do with it.

Comments (28)

• adardich
    Original Author
    2 years ago

This is the other side of the plant. The plant stake in the forground is just a little support for the mom. The plant kind of flops against it. It doesn't have anything attached to it.

I'm holding the mom flower spike.

Close up of the keiki. The mom flower spike is sticking up behind the roots. The keiki flower spike goes off to the right.

• dsegel
    2 years ago

I'm following this thread and wanted to comment so I get notices.

• Related Discussions

Epicatt producing too many Keikies...

Q

Comments (8)