SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
julie_zone6b

kitchen layout help - preliminary layout for discussion

Good evening everyone, it's my first time posting for kitchen layout advice! I've been perusing the forums and appreciating all that you do here! I found your "how to ask for layout help" guide and have filled it out below.

A little background on us - my husband and I have lived in our small 1935 bungalow for 12 years now. We love our home but our existing kitchen is very tiny. I cook a lot and although our kitchen has been incredibly efficient and workable for the size that it is, I'm beyond ready to have a kitchen that reflects my personal style and has more room to cook and entertain. We are looking at an additional/remodel to achieve these goals.

More background - I work as a commercial healthcare designer with access to drafting software so I have been playing around with lots of different plan reiterations. While I can sketch away to my heart's content, I don't know much at all about residential and/or kitchen design - I just have my own experience in my tiny kitchen to go off of. So I feel like my knowledge base is very limited in regards to the design possibilities of what we can do here! After exploring a lot of different layouts (including having a laundry room on the back west wall), I've narrowed down to this layout so far. My sketches include the original kitchen design and the proposed area of the addition just so you can have some context of where we're coming from and where we're wanting to go. We don't want to go out any further than 6' due to backyard restraints.

Floor plan notes:

• Option 1: I really like the general kitchen layout, aisle widths, and countertop lengths in this design. The only thing I'm concerned about is the distance between the cooktop and refrigerator. It's a bit long at 14'.