SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
pgschlegel

Anyone with cork flooring in your kitchen? Comments

Lois Webster
2 years ago

Doing a complete kitchen overhaul and am seriously considering installing glued down cork flooring. Want to hear from anyone living with a cork floor in their kitchen. Thank you very much in advance.

Comments (14)

• SJ McCarthy
    2 years ago

Oh good! A cork flooring question. I'm a cork flooring expert (no longer affiliated with a company/retailer). I've helped hundreds of people put in cork floors in bathrooms, trailers (yep...the one's you pull with your car), kitchens, counter tops (regular home AND $500K RV), walls, ceilings...you name it and I've probably helped get cork to sit, stick or float on it (yes...even yachts).

So...glue down cork tiles are AS EXPENSIVE, at the end of the day, to install as high-end porcelain tile. In my neck of the woods, that works out to be (roughly) $18/sf. Easy. Don't freak out. That is the TOTAL cost of the job. That includes the cork, the adhesive, the polyurethane coating you apply AFTERWARDS and the labour to install.

It does NOT include subfloor prep. I always itemize 'preparation costs' as a separate line-item. Because it is. Of course all subfloors need SOME SORT of work. That's a given. The prep costs for a glue-down-cork floor = IDENTICAL to a HIGH END porcelain tile floor. Perfect. You are still in the 'normal' ball park for your project. I would add another $4/sf onto the price of the flooring install. That should get you in the right ball park...just behind home plate (sigh...I have GOT to stop watching baseball!).

Now...what is it SPECIFICALLY that you want to know about cork?

Is it great on your joints? Yes. It is the perfect 'age in place' floor.

Is it water proof? Yep. So long as it is sealed AFTER the install, you bet. It is as good as sheet vinyl.