SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
maddie_victoria

Walk-in Pantry or Open Concept with Island? Kitchen Remodel

2 years ago

Currently debating a kitchen remodel. We have a nice walk-in pantry, but it’s currently in the middle of my house cutting off any chance of an open-concept living area. We are thinking of shifting our patio door to the right and then moving our refrigerator next to the sink and making a small pantry next to the refrigerator, eliminating our walk-in pantry but adding a large sit-in island.

My husband is very tentative to get rid of the big pantry for resale value purposes. I personally think an open concept with island is more desirable than a galley kitchen with walk-in pantry, but I am no expert! Any opinions either way?

Comments (30)

• 2 years ago

I think your kitchen looks very cramped i would go for open concept but would try to have some distance between the si k and fridge

• 2 years ago

I think part of the reason (perhaps the main reason) the kitchen looks cramped is because the refrigerator is massive and sticks out so far into the room.

I would love a walk-in pantry. And I think "open concept" is fading in popularity. But, that's just my opinion. YMMV

• Related Discussions

Walk-in or walk-through pantry

Q

Comments (16)
    Sometimes, but it's not far and it's so nice to have all the food in one area and organized. I love not having to reach into cabinets to find the food and it makes putting things away really easy. Having the counter in the pantry allows us to put all the grocery bags there from the store and empty at will without taking up kitchen counter space as well. It's probably one of the best decisions we made and I'm glad we did the walk through. Walking around the whole time would have been a real PITA. Good luck!
    ...See More

Should kitchen island be centered with LR fireplace when open concept?

Q

Comments (24)