SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
webuser_997033148

Effect of thick basal plates, and what to do

This is a topic that I've been researching for several years. Finding information on trimming thick basal plates has been challenging. I've even bought BOOKS, by experts - chapters and chapters - to get more info about this, without getting much useful information. I first came across this idea, that thick basal plates can stunt bulbs, over on Dave's Garden, years ago, but have found little guidance since then.

Often (but not always!) when I've seen a bulb decline, the cause seems to have been obvious during repotting when I've found that thick basal plates correspond exactly with fewer roots, and also with decreasing bulb size. Which obviously means fewer or smaller scapes and fewer or smaller flowers per scape, although I've never let any bulb get to such state where it produces fewer than two scapes at least.

This year I tried again to find more information, and found this old Gardenweb thread: https://www.houzz.com/discussions/1761378/rejuvinating-by-slicing-basal-plate

I have rejoiced to find that this isn't all just a figment of my imagination or some weird enthusiasm of some previous author, and that others have observed it as well. (Apologies for all you spell-checkers like me. There are an awful lot of spelling errors, and the continual emphasis on the incorrect spelling of rejuvenate is off-putting, to be sure. Doesn't mean the ideas are bad. Ouch, but it's worth it!!)

Please read through the whole thread, particularly to the point where OP cites Paul of Royal Colors, who says that trimming basal plates is recommended.