SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
lore_russell

New house office location

Lore Bennett
3 years ago

We are in the beginning process of building a house. I can not seem to decide on the office location. I am a teacher and have lived for the past 6 years in a house with the office in the front of the house. For some reason I never use it. I would rather sit in our bedroom and do school work. Maybe it’s because I do so much of it that I feel like if I sat in the office to do my school work I would just live in there. I had thought about putting a sitting room off our new master and putting a desk in their but they house plans we fell in love with have the office of course at the front of the house. I would love to know your thoughts and opinions on what would be the best option.

Comments (33)

• cpartist
    3 years ago

When my kids were growing up, I kept a desk in the family room. Of course I didn't need quiet for what I did so it worked fine.

When you say you fell in love with a house plan, have you instead considered working with an architect to create a plan that would put an office exactly where you want it?

• Lore Bennett
    Original Author
    3 years ago

I have thought about it but thought it might be cheaper to have at least a starting point. The problem with most houses is when the office is up front if you take that away you would mess up the front of the house Structure wise though

• Related Discussions

Help with location / design of screened porch on new house

Q

Comments (9)