SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
focus_on_value

Kitchen remodel help - looking for layout feedback and advice

focus_on_value
3 years ago
last modified: 3 years ago

Hi! I'm new to Houzz and have never remodeled any part of a home before. I just moved into our new house and want to update the kitchen. Everything in this house is original from the 1980s.

Attached are the 2D floor layout I drew of the existing layout. I'm also including the sketches from the kitchen measurement I got through Traemand.

This is going to be a very long post as I'm including a lot of details per Buehl's instructions. Apologies if it's too much information.

I'm kind of clueless about what I need to know before my IKEA kitchen appointment next Friday. They sent me a questionnaire asking me my preferred layout and I froze and don't know what is possible.

If you could give me feedback on whether you think my kitchen could be optimized for more efficient function, I would appreciate it.

Mission Statement of the Kitchen

We need a highly functional kitchen designed with layout and appliances optimized to maximize our efficiency when it comes to prepping, cooking, and clean up. We want our kitchen to feel clean, minimalist, calm, inviting, and low-maintenance. The kitchen should not look dated in 10 years. We cook once a day, sometimes twice a day, so the kitchen needs to be functional.

Requirements:

• Family composition is 2 adults with possible future children.
  • Usually, there will be 2 kitchen workers, 1 doing prep and 1 person cooking
  • We are both very big home cooks
  • How do you see your kitchen used?For cooking and cleaning up
    For baking
    For socializing & entertaining, informal and casual
    For a test kitchen for food blogging
    For food photography
    The kitchen is where we "hang out" everyday
    We have a connected dining room that is part of the kitchen space because of the open floor plan. We use the dining area everyday.