SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
psyohe

Pictures needed of cabinets before stone tops were installed

Peke
3 years ago

Does anyone have pictures of their base cabinets' interiors before the stone countertops were installed?

My plumber told me that my new vanity cabinets ($2000) would not support the stone tops. The plumbing, heating and air company has recently started building cabinets, framing, etc. So, I don't know if he is trying to drum up business or not.

I live in a rural area, and most people are self-taught. It is difficult to find licensed plumbing and electrical contractors, but no license needed for general contractors. Our state just started requiring roofers to have a license. Just a little backwards here!

Just because I have put up drywall before, doesn't mean I am a drywall contractor, but around here that is what happens.

I think 3/4" plywood was used. I know there is no particle board or MDF in the cabinet. I think the wood was glued and nailed in. The face frames have what I think are pocket screws, but I may be wrong. The top corners do not have any corner bracing. I don't see a lot of horizontal support either. My wood table and chairs have corner bracing so why wouldn't cabinets?

I noticed that there is no vertical wall between the drawer section and the under sink section. My other cabinets have that wall, and the same guy built all of the cabinets in my house. He built for the previous owners, and some of those cabinets are 25 and 35 years old, but they did not have to support stone tops. I know the weight is displaced over the entire surface of the cabinet, but they just don't look sturdy to me. Millworkman also said they didn't look sturdy enough, and I think he is right.

The cabinet below is 48" x 22". What can I do to add support to make it strong enough to hold a stone countertop? If I could see pictures of the inside framing of cabinets, it might give me an idea.