SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
hzdeleted_35844888

Plant ID request please

User
3 years ago
last modified: 3 years ago

Rummage sale rescue. Looks like peat moss media.

Here's a close up.

Any advise too would be greatly appreciated.

I'm a newbie growing these what ever they are.

Should I transplant or start a new piece from a slip?

For 75 cents I can't lose too much if I fail.

TIA :-)

eta: post date: 9-19-2020

Comments (45)

• s g
    3 years ago

Schlumbergera or Zygocactus.

Repot into a less peaty mix, a free draining mix to avoid root rot.

It is often a good idea to take a cutting or two to start new plants in case you lose the original one for some reason.

Google the name for tips on growing it.

User thanked s g
  • Emily (5b)
    3 years ago

It's a Thanksgiving cactus, Schlumbergera truncata. It blooms around November, hence the name.

I would repot into a grittier mix, a 1:1 ratio of cactus & succulent soil and rinsed or sifted perlite (or pumice) should work well

User thanked Emily (5b)
  • Related Discussions

Plant ID help request. Armadillo hid plant tags

Q

Comments (3)
    Sorry, I don't know. If you don't get a reply here, clip a leaf and take to nursery! Maybe the armadillos collect plant tags.
    ...See More

Plant ID requested

Q

Comments (3)
    Its called salsify. I'm used to the weedy variety with yellow flowers, but if I'm not mistaken the purple flowered variety is cultivated for its edible taproot, but only from first year plants (its biennial so it flowers in the second growing season, and the root is then apparently too tough).
    ...See More

Plant ID requested on this growing in grass.

Q

Comments (2)
    Thank you for you answer and time! Mystery Solved!
    ...See More

Plant ID Requested ... Not A Rose

Q

Comments (6)