SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
northlandyogi_mi5a

Cold climate/northern garnders, show me your roses please!

Dear fellow northern gardeners, I've been admiring many people's beautiful roses on the forum and youtube, but most of them seem to be from warmer climate. If you are gardening in colder climate, could you please share your successful and not-so-successful stories and experiences about roses? Which roses are your favorites? What are your best performers, especially David Austin roses and kordes? How do you winterize? Pictures would be great!

____

About my ambitious north-land rose garden plan:

I am in USDA 4 but our real temperature in the past over 50 years has been more of a 5a, which is the same as Heirloom, Jackson and Perkins' website stated. So I've been ordering many roses in zone 5. I'm a newbie and I'm anxiously awaiting for my first babies to arrive in a month or so. This is what I've already ordered for fall planting: Teasing Georgia DA bush; Betthy White hybrid tea (by the foundation closer to the house heat); 2 Earth Angel floribunda, and Moondance floribunda. Spring shipment from DA: Desdemona, Scepter'd isle, and Generous Gardener. I'm considering ordering the following: Vanessa bell, Oliva Austin, and Roald Dahl. I'm also considering a few ground cover roses from Meiland or Jackson and Perkins.

Comments (97)

• mmmm12COzone5
    3 years ago

northlandyogi,

It was during the late winter that I decided to make them. Sort of a distraction from reading about all the other areas of the country that were having their spring flushes when mine were still dormant.

• Vaporvac Z6-OhioRiverValley
    3 years ago

Yogi, did you call DA and ask? MANY of their BR roses are BR OR as mentioned above. Just because it just says BR on the website doesn't mean it's grafted. For example, Bathsheba and Malvern Hills are both BR OR. When you receive them they are a huge mass of roots.

• Related Discussions

Choosing a rose for a cold climate

Q

Comments (5)