SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
rielle_montague

Does Tankless Hot Water Heater = Inconsistent Hot Water?

riellebee
4 years ago

We've been in our new (new construction) home for almost 6 months. We have 2 Navien tankless hot water heaters installed in the same location in the basement on the right side of the house. The kitchen is on the left side of the house and possibly about 50' away. It takes forever to get hot water in the kitchen! When it finally gets hot, it isn't as hot as the water in the shower upstairs on the right side of the house, which is almost too hot. I've also noticed that the amount of time to get hot water in the upstairs bathroom on the left side of the house is also inconsistent. Also, if you're using the hot water and turn it off for a little bit, the water is cold before it gets hot again. This is my first time in a home with tankless hot water heaters.

We've asked the builder to fix this as part of our warranty. At first there was some pushback because the plumbing is supposedly to code, but they are trying to come up with a fix after witnessing how long it takes to get hot water in the kitchen. I think they are considering adding a plumbing line with a recirculating pump. I'd appreciate any advice or suggestions on what to expect from a tankless hot water heater and what options should be considered for addressing this. Thanks!

Comments (36)

• Jake The Wonderdog
    4 years ago
    last modified: 4 years ago

No, Tankless water heater doesn't = Inconsistent hot water.

Really bad design and bad installation = inconsistent hot water.

• riellebee
    Original Author
    4 years ago