SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
katyajini

Why did my Buff Beauty turn pink???

katyajini
4 years ago

My Buff Beauty was lost in my neglected yard. But I found it and am nurturing it hopefully back to good health. It had only one cane and that looked healthy as it leafed out, bloomed very well and fragrance was exactly as I remembered. But the flowers were smaller than I remember them to be and they are pale pink! Not at all the buff color. What happened? How does this happen? A new cane is emerging lets see what happens.

Thanks

Comments (50)

• rifis (zone 6b-7a NJ)
    4 years ago

(Disclosure: I am no expert on matters of health; my spouse constantly reminds me about this)

You indicated you nurtured this rose back to health. Apparently it does not subscribe to the philosophy “it’s better to look good than to feel good”.

Why would it want to be buff, when you’ve returned it in the pink of health?

Good job!

• ingrid_vc so. CA zone 9
    4 years ago

The blooms turning pink and the smaller size are most probably due to the increased temperatures of summer. Some roses are phototrophic, which means they react to the sun by turning pink, usually around the edges first, and many roses, in fact the majority, have smaller blooms when it gets really hot. All that will change again with the advent of the cooler days of autumn.

katyajini thanked ingrid_vc so. CA zone 9
  • Related Discussions

Why are my leaves turning brown and drying

Q

Comments (26)