SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
joseph_corlett

Fix It Before They Find It

Joseph Corlett, LLC
4 years ago
last modified: 4 years ago

To be successful as a home improvement contractor, I would advise those just starting out that when mistakes happen, stop what you're doing and fix them as soon as possible and preferably without mentioning anything to the person cutting the check(s).

I cracked this engineered stone front sink rail and quickly repaired it. Remember, you're looking at it from 6" or so away. It cannot be felt and passes the low-level light test:

No possible good can come from pointing this out. The homeowners will never find it and more importantly, the home inspector for the people who buy their house some day won't either.

Yesterday I split a bottom cabinet rail while tapping it off.

The glued and clamped repair is highly inconspicuous. Again, I did the repair immediately and said nothing.

There are limits. If my repair is not highly inconspicuous, I've gotta speak up and take my spanking:

These homeowners thought the small repair in the right top rounded end of this Elkay Quartz Luxe sink was worth a 30% discount and were delighted to take advantage of my screw-up.

This is a natural marketplace response to the folks on Houzz who expect perfection in combination with the power of online reviews. A smart contractor picks reasonable clients, but one never knows if she got out of the crazy side of the bed the morning of your mistake.

Comments (56)

• hollybar
    4 years ago

I've had various contractors tell me I'm their dream easygoing client (couple of 'em might even mean it since they were willing to work with us again) but if crap happens that necessitates a repair, even when fixable, I want to know.

• Deb
    4 years ago