SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
jrbwalley

What type of marble would look good in my kitchen?

jrbwalley
4 years ago

We are building and I need to choose countertops. I have spent a LOT of time reading about different types, and am strongly leaning towards marble. I was thinking quartz but just keep coming back to the marble. I am aware of the work involved in keeping it up and am not too concerned about etching or staining, honestly my biggest concern is chipping since I use a lot of heavy cast iron and my kids do a lot in the kitchen. But I guess regardless of whether I stick with marble or cave and get a quartz look-alike, what shades/colors would look best here? I tend to like a white with fairly fine veining (as opposed to the really thick veins I see in some quartz) but would love more specific input. I am not good at the whole "warm/cool" thing and don't want to end up with something that clashes. Oh, there will be a blue stove on that back wall. Also, backsplash suggestions? I was thinking marble subway tiles in a herringbone pattern but don't know if that would be too much marble...

Comments (135)

• jrbwalley
    Original Author
    4 years ago

I know this is a supplier they like to use, what would you all suggest from this selection?

https://www.msisurfaces.com/marble-countertops/

• claire_larece
    4 years ago

jrb what is the size of your island? 8' by or 6'?

• Related Discussions

What Countertop Would Look Good In This Kitchen (Pic.)

Q

Comments (8)