SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
courtney_brooke63

Absolute black granite?? Is it really black or not?

Courtney Brooke
5 years ago
I am building a farmhouse on 10 acres in the country. The main colors are black and white with pops of color here and there. My island will be Silver cloud granite and I want black granite on the surrounding countertops. Is absolute black really black or is it speckled with grey? Attached is the house before the black metal roof and the slab for the island.

Comments (59)

• Courtney Brooke
    Original Author
    5 years ago
    Those windows will all have black cedar shutters. The ones on the right are actually in the garage and on the left, they are in a guest room.
    I appreciate all the helpful comments about my countertops. This is my first time on Houzz. I didn’t realize it was like FB. That’s disappointing.
  • tatts
    5 years ago

Welcome to the Internet; you must be the new kid.

• Related Discussions

Is this acceptable?- Chips in Absolute Black Granite

Q

Comments (12)
    Sweet313- Installing stone around a stationary object (like a vertical support beam) will generally leave you with few options if any - for no seams. It sounds like your Fabrocator had no choice but to cut, and "piece in" a section after the stone was set in place. As far as your "smear" is concerned, this could be a natural quality in your slab - I dunno, since the picture is hard to discern, and I am not there in person to look at the surface of the stone to ascertain what the issue is exactly. Here's what I'd be looking for: 1. Reflected image distortion - IF a reflected image appears to be distorted when you look at the smear, the stone has been "worked" or ground down to some degree, and re polished - if there is no distortion, the smear is a naturally occurring quality of the stone. in either case, you need to decide if you can live with this, since YOU will see it every day. hope that helps kevin
    ...See More