SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
whikxolf

Calathea Warscewiczii Not Happy

whikxolf
5 years ago

Hi everyone! I'm really looking for some help regarding my calathea warscewiczii and its drooping leaves. Any advice appreciated!

I'm pretty new to keeping house plants and its a steep learning curve but don't seem to be doing too badly so far (I have an orchid that was saved from IKEA which is now happily producing new growth, amongst a small collection of other house plants). However this calathea is giving me some issues but its a gorgeous plant and I'd really love to have it growing happily! So below is a photo of when I first got it, its a big plant and looked stunning at the garden centre and I did not realise how picky calathea can be - oops! It seemed fairly healthy, some damaged leaves but not too bad and it was even flowering!

I got it home did some research and realised its needs where more complicated than expected so I made a plan to create a good environment for it, in the mean time I kept it warm and humid in the shower! I did not actually put shower water on the plant however. I did water it as the soil was desert dry on the top few inches. I watered thoroughly then let it drain well, however I made the mistake of using tepid tap water instead of filtered which I have not done again. As you can see though below, problems were forming already - drooping leaves!