Houzz Logo Print
jamie_z7bhz8

Tennessee Home Gardening Variety Trials

Jamie
5 years ago

Comments (35)

• 2ManyDiversions
    5 years ago

Jamie, thank you so much for posting these links!

Trying to get a smallish garden in before spring (didn't intend to get it done for another year and still might not)... but at any rate, that's so useful. I'm a newbie to anything other than pole beans and tomatoes, so those reports with stats are a true gift!

• Jamie
    Original Author
    5 years ago

You're welcome, good luck!

• Related Discussions

Seed growing pros: Want to trial some seeds?

Q

Comments (6)
    Hi Bob, I am a bit of a newbie to gardening, but am in the habit of measuring germination rates. I homeschool my kids and this would be a really cool science experiment. We are also in the process of starting a new garden so this would be really interesting for us. So, if you don't have three people already I would be interested.
    ...See More

Newbie to Tennessee gardens

Q

Comments (11)
    It is extremely different here than east tennessee. If I am not mistaken you guys have the beautiful land with the nice humus rich soil. We are in farmland country!! We have concrete in the summer. Orange to brown clayish thick mud when it is wet. You can lose a shoe easily in that mess, not that I would know from experience or anything, and I am not talking about just a flip flop I mean a tied on sneaker!! LOL Best advice plan your plantings around the rain and I wouldn't try planting much after late april early may at least not in the full sun. Full sun plants up north we can get away with planting them in partial shade meaning morning sun afternoon shade. Plant trees shrubs and if you can perennials in the fall. You can pretty much plant about anything down here that you could up north, you just may have to adjust where you plant it. Meaning what type of sun exposure. Our sun is hot after 10-11 am.
    ...See More

Landis Valley Trials

Q

Comments (2)