SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
webuser_562011843

My front door opens to the living room.

HU-562011843
5 years ago

Hi all,

We are building our dream home, and as a first timer, i am unaware about a foyer or an entry way. Now, looking at our design and layout, I'm starting to regret about the idea of a double front door that enters directly into the living room. I tried to "redraw" the design on my own, but it seemed as if nothing would work because of the space. I couldn't move the double door to the side because it would affect the design on the outside of the house. I'm a newbie and i can't think of what to do. Do you think switching position of the living room and the dinning would help? should i shrink something to create an entry way? my living room and dinning room area is 20 ft x 31 ft total. any advice is greatly appreciated.

Comments (29)

• Jonathan
    5 years ago

Consider adding a vestibule with some coats storage

• PRO
    Diana Bier Interiors, LLC
    5 years ago

Who designed the house--you, an architect, or is it a stock plan? Have you already broken ground?

• Related Discussions

Living Room w/ front door in middle opening to long wall

Q

Comments (11)
    @decoenthusiaste - I rearranged to where the sofa is on the longest wall and the TV is on the wall opposite of the window. I like that setup the most, but I need more seating in front of the window like 2 wingback chairs or something similar.
    ...See More

Help with Open Floor plan and front door opening to open living room

Q

Comments (3)
    That really leaves you with the current arrangement, replacing the grey chair by the front window with kid stuff and leaving the floating living space opposite the TV. I'd really look into rerouting cable so the TV can be where the large art piece is. It's not usually very expensive and will be necessary in order to keep your walkway from running right in front of the tv.
    ...See More

Help with small conversation area near fireplace

Q