SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
ostrich0001

Wolf 15" modular gas + 24" induction cooktop - functional set up?

ostrich
5 years ago

Just as I thought that I was done with the cooktop/rangetop decision (gas vs induction), I just saw the Wolf 15" modular gas cooktop + 24" induction cooktop option!

I just did a search and know that there had been many threads about this, but I could not find the answers to my questions so please bear with me. While this sounds like a great combo for me (induction for the "clean" daily cooking, while the powerful gas burner (22K BTU) would be great for wok cooking, here are my questions:

1. The Wolf 24" induction cooktop only has a maximum power output of 3100W (with boost) for the largest zone). This is much less than what their 36" induction cooktop offers (3600W max). Since I have never used an induction cooktop before, is this power output going to be too low for pan frying with a 12" pan? If the 24" induction cooktop had the 3600W output (with boost) then it's a bit of a no-brainer for me....

2. For those of you with this (or similar) set up - as the gas burner will be sitting right on the side of this set up, do you find that stirring fry there will cause a big messy splash everywhere on the countertop?

3. Do you find it inconvenient to have 2 relatively small cooktop areas that are on 2 different levels, so that moving the cookware from one spot to another to be annoying? Or is this not an issue?

4. For the ventilation set up, will you then go with a 42" vent hood?

Thank you so much in advance for your help!

Comments (55)

• kaseki
    5 years ago
    last modified: 5 years ago