SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
leah_harvey4710

Laundry Room - what to do with shut off valves???

Leah Harvey
5 years ago

I am finally adding cabinetry and a countertop to my laundry room. I now realize that the water shut off valves are right in line with where the countertop will go. Should they be moved higher or lower?

Comments (49)

• Elizabeth
    5 years ago

I would moved them higher. Centered on the wall and hang some framed art over top to conceal them.

Leah Harvey thanked Elizabeth
  • Related Discussions

electonic shut off valves? Anyone use them?

Q

Comments (3)
    I have no experience with the electronic ones; I use the manual ones, simple quarter-turn levers that take about the same amount of time to shut off as a light switch. Mine are quite pipe/plumbing-ish looking, some users here have solved that problem in more elegant laundry rooms by using regular bathroom or kitchen faucet handles as the shut-offs. I have seen occasional reports of the electronic ones causing water flow fault indications in some machines. I would ask your machine's manufacturer for recommendations. (Manual ones won't do that.) Either way, (manual or electronic) it's a very good idea to have them. You may also be able to get some reduction on your homeowner's insurance premium, particularly if your machines are not in the basement. Won't hurt to ask! Molly~
    ...See More

How to hide Washer shut off valves?

Q

Comments (6)
    I found a wonderful dual valve that has a short stem with a ball knob that you turn both hot and cold water lines on with at the same time. Mine is solid brass and I like the look and feel of it. It is easy enough for my wife to switch. I think stainless can be had for more money. A plumber installed it . Our stand pipe is behind a sheet rock wall, except for a very short pipe that Y's off at the top and protrudes out of the wall. We stick the drain hose into it. No problems with backup or smells.
    ...See More