SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
lisa_adams3049647

Diane/anyone, would Augusta Louise prefer some PM shade in my garden?

Lisa Adams
5 years ago

I apologize for asking a question that surely has been discussed before, but for some reason my “search option “ here on Houzz has been totally useless for the past few weeks. I’m not able to access old posts. I also can’t remember what sort of siting Diane, or anyone else recommended for Augusta Louise.

Mine is from Palatine, so she’s budded on Multiflora rootstock, which I have zero experience with. I’m in zone 10a, S. California, about 10 miles inland, North San Diego County. Conditions are usually quite dry, with very low humidity, and only 13” of rainfall during a “normal“ winter. I get very little frost, maybe about 10-15 mornings a year I’ll see it on the lawn, but nothing ever really “freezes“. The only disease that plagues my roses is powdery mildew. Summer and Fall are VERY dry, with temps from the high 80’s to over 100F, and getting hotter and drier with climate change. It always cools down at night, so nights and evenings are quite comfortable even during the hottest time of the year.

Augusta Louise is in a container, at the moment. I intend to plant her as soon as I get some advice. Full sun, all day long would be easiest to provide, but she’s so special I want to give her the very best spot I can provide. If necessary, she could be planted where she’d get some relief from the afternoon sun.

Thanks SO very much, and I’m sorry for the redundant question. Lisa

Comments (36)

• daisyincrete Z10? 905feet/275 metres
    5 years ago