SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
storybookhome

Cold Feet/Design Fatigue?

Storybook Home
5 years ago
Did you get cold feet before a remodel/whole house interior design? I’m starting to wonder if it’s ‘worth’ it? I love pretty things! Always have. I’m a professional artist. I love just looking at ‘pretty’. I have dreamed of owning and decorating my own home for over a decade. But it is SO much money. To do it right, with quality estate pieces... And then what if you get tired of it!? It’s so hard to know what you will like in 5, 10, 20 years. Some people may redo it sure but with travel, retirement, health costs, hobbies I feel like I will only do this once, maybe twice, in my lifetime. I think about my grandparents. Their house hasn’t changed in decades. It has no style other than eclectic quality somewhat traditional. It’s not ‘pretty’ but it is homey. I don’t know. Now that it’s time to pull the trigger I’m starting to get cold feet over spending the money to create a magazine worthy space that I may tire of. But I still really want to do it! Ahhhh. Anyone else riddled with self doubt before a major project after poring over designs for so long?

Comments (40)

• Judy Mishkin
    5 years ago

yup. i think the main solution is not to spend more than you can afford on the project.

• Related Discussions

decorating cold feet

Q

Comments (18)