SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
lllive

Advice - New Dawn Climbing Rose and Clematis for a Newbie Gardener

LIV
5 years ago

Hi! I am a newbie gardener - it was my very first "gardening season" with annuals this year and now working on adding / growing perennials and improving the front garden of my cottage. I have just recently installed 4 slim trellises at the front of the house (each trellis measures 24" wide and 10 feet tall) and planted a New Dawn climbing rose (ND) and a Jackmanii Superba Clematis (JS) in front of each of the trellis just yesterday. The plants were in the clearance section of HD and a quick google search while I was in the store showed an image of both climbers combined in a trellis so I easily decided to purchase them.

Only after reading houzz discussions and other websites last night (after I have planted all of them) did I begin to think that the New Dawn roses might mature to be too large and vigorous for the 2ft x 10 ft wall trellises I have. Having planted 4 of them in front of my cottage, I am afraid it will easily take over this small house or it might be too difficult to contain and control to stay within the trellis. Each trellis/ ND/ Clematis is spaced only at about 8 feet horizontal (each bay) and the central bay is my front door so I have to make sure no one gets snagged by its thorns. If it helps, the front wall faces SOUTH so they will get plenty of sunlight the whole day and I am located in USDA equiv. zone 5 / Canada zone 6 (ontario).