SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
pocketmole

Photos around my yard - Dallas area.

Bag of Bees
5 years ago

Hey all! I'm an amateur gardener trying to find my way through the struggles and benefits of Texas gardening. When we moved into our house we had a very bland backyard, so we hired someone to help reshape our patio and carve out some flower beds. A diseased tree was removed and a number of perennials were planted. Since then I've done my best to properly maintain the base plantings, but I've also added quite a bit more to it. I thought I'd share some of the photos I've taken around the garden recently. :)

Belinda's Dream Rose:

Velvet Picotee Petunia. I planted this last year in a container and it managed to come back after several freezes. I didn't even know petunias could do that, haha. I'm happy though because I love this plant!

The last of my iris blooms for the year. I don't know the variety, as they were a gift from a friend's mother's garden. I plan on moving them in the fall because they match the color of my house too much. I want to put them somewhere with more contrast.

Two different carrot harvests. One was from a couple of weeks ago and one was from a couple of nights ago. My first time growing carrots went pretty well I think!

This Fragrant Star clematis has stopped blooming for the year since I took this picture, but I had to include it because it's so pretty. :)

My first meyer lemon blossoms. It smells sooo goooood.

A container I planted up that is overflowing now. Sweet potato vine, diamond frost euphorbia, and a yellow day lily. This was meant to be a temporary planter until my new black urns arrived, but my urns are taking forever to get here. I'm enjoying this in the meantime though :) In the background is a Henry Duelberg salvia.

Love and Wishes salvia. I feel like I don't have this in the ideal spot but so far it's doing well. I'm waiting to see how it goes once the heat picks up.

Pretty little hot pink celosia.

A happy little bee.