SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
c_salley9

Luxury Vinyl Plank Interlocking Vs. Peel and Stick Floors

Charlotte Salley
6 years ago
last modified: 6 years ago

Hi All!

So... this is my first time starting a discussion on here but I'd love to hear other peoples experiences with these two types of floors, brands used, and budgets awarded!

I recently (less than a year ago) purchased my first home as a "light" fixer upper- mostly needed paint, water fixture, light fixture updates initially once the HVAC, water Heater and appliances were bought.

I was able to complete most of the above mentioned, but have now reached my limit with patience over my floors... The house is a 1380 sqft open floor plan and almost wall to wall carpet... that's original... from the 90's (ACK!!!!), and if its not carpet its this god awful yellow linoleum (kitchen, laundry room, and bathrooms). I've had my heart set on some form of reclaimed dark brown/grey barn-wood floor to replace in all the main areas except bathrooms and laundry room which for those I was thinking a form of white marble/stone look... I also just can't afford the 4-5.00 / sq ft it seems some of the luxury vinyl planks seem to run. If it helps, the walls are Sherwin Williams Repose Grey @ 25% mixture (lightened 75%). I'm on a bit of a budget and was hoping to keep the whole flooring project under 5500, would love to see even 3500 for the floors as I have a family friend helping me with riping out the carpet and the install, so my largest expense will be the product itself.