SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
jane_vt

Stove Location - Peninsula Corner?

jane_vt
6 years ago
last modified: 6 years ago

Hello Everyone!

I am new to Houzz but can already tell what a helpful resource this is! My husband and I bought an 1880's farmhouse and are renovating it. My current project is the kitchen. Our kitchen designer created the layout you see below. On the other side of the peninsula is the living room and dining room (both flow into one another).

I thought that the design looked just fine until my mom took a closer look at the stove location. She thinks that it is in an awkward spot - shoved into the corner of the peninsula. She worries that the heat from the oven will ruin the cabinets, that it will be difficult to use the range in the corner and that we will hate it in a matter of days but have to live with it for years and years.

Our kitchen designer told me that the way stoves are made now mean that the heat will not 'blast' out and destroy the cabinets in the way that I may be thinking.

I am not sure how I feel about the stove in the corner. I kind of like the idea of having prep space on both the right and the left of the stove. Plus it allows us to cook and socialize at the same time with family and friends in the living room/ dining room. We have a young family and I like the idea of keeping an eye on everyone :) That said, I don't want to spend a ton of money of a new kitchen (cabinets, stove, etc..) and end up hating it or ruining it.

I have two questions:

1) Does anyone have a stove in a corner like this? What do you think of it? Conversely, what do you think of the idea of a stove in the corner? Does anyone see it as a problem? Benefit? Annoyance?