SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
peps_22

Give up planting peppers in-ground?

peps_22
6 years ago

My garden conditions are far from perfect. I get 6 hours of sun, tops. The raised bed soil mix I used from miracle-gro drained very poorly during our wet summer last year, holding the peppers back with their "wet feet." (here is what I used - Miracle Gro Raised Bed Soil Mix)

I'm thinking of growing peppers exclusively in pots from now on, and just putting tomatoes in ground. I was wondering what people think of this.

A. Is there an amendment for me to use for the raised bed soil to drain better, or is it a waste of time and I should abandon in-ground entirely?

B. If I go to exclusively pots, I want to do it in a way that is more economical and saves space. Right now I use random round pots, but I don't think it's a good use of space. Does anyone use any trough-like pots that are long and save space?

Comments (24)

• erect and thornless
    6 years ago

i'm not experienced enough to compare in-ground versus container pepper vitality. most of my pepper plants are in containers, and the couple I planted in the ground last fall have yet to become large enough to yield fruit.

but my thai pepper variants are doing well in these boxes. they're about 15 inches long and 8 inches wide, and they're fairly space efficient. i get them from home depot for about $5 each, and they're the right size for that particular plant. (they're too small for the serranos and datils i'm growing.)

they lack drainage holes, but it's easy to poke holes in the bottom with a thumb tack. my gardening area gets only 4-6 hours of sunlight per day, depending on the time of year, but I use wooden stools to elevate the plants to increase their sun exposure. the stools are about two feet tall, and I get the ones with cosmetic defects because amazon sells them at a discount; these imperfections are immaterial, as the stools are going to get weathered anyway outdoors.

• habjolokia z 6b/7
    6 years ago