SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
sarah_mickelson28

What color should I paint my floor??

Sarah Mickelson
6 years ago

I have a 1938 Tudor that I've been restoring for 2 years. We're taking a break from big projects to save up money, but I have some hideous faux rock laminate floors that I just can't live with any longer. They're in a back hallway that leads to our backyard, but they are highly visible in the house (you can see them when you walk in our front door and from most areas of our first floor). I've decide to paint the laminate floors until we can afford nicer flooring. We're adding ship lap soon and will be painting it white. I'm adding new ceiling lights that are metal with a white shade and black base . I also purchased a vintage runner for the floor. It's dark navy and dark rust red. I love it, but it's really throwing off my color choice for the floor. I bought a color called Knoxville Gray by Benjamin Moore, but now that I have it it's looking way too dark with my dark rug. I'm not scared of color, so I'm open to suggestions. I do want it one solid color and I'd prefer it not to be a plain gray color. I know I could get a different rug, but I just splurged on this rug for this specific area, so I'd prefer to keep it here. Would LOVE your help! I'm going to attach some pics that will show the hall, the rug, and a pic of our kitchen to get a vibe of our house/decor.

The kitchen is just a few steps up from this back hall:

Comments (45)

• PRO
    Patricia Colwell Consulting
    6 years ago

IMO the painted floor with paint that really won’t stick to the vinyl will lookl alot worse than what you have now.

Sarah Mickelson thanked Patricia Colwell Consulting
  • Sarah Mickelson
    Original Author
    6 years ago

I actually researched and have found a lot of people who have successfully painted linoleum floors. I bought a special exterior floor paint. So, I'm not worried about the chipping.

• Related Discussions