SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
shelby_mclane

How to Remove Wall Texture!?

Shelby McLane
6 years ago
The texture on our walls (in the entire house!!) looks awful... There is not one room that doesn't have it. I have heard we can DIY at least some to save money since it's everywhere but I still don't feel like I know the best method after researching on the internet. My husband is skeptical of doing it ourselves so if I start this project I may be on my own until I hire someone (which we can't afford right now). I've never done anything like this before and I'm a little worried. There are also many spots on walls big and small that look bad patch jobs or in textured patches (or both). I need a rundown on the best way to tackle this room by room. Any ideas?

Comments (20)

• Fori
    6 years ago

The worst thing about textured walls is (as you can see!) patching!

Do you think you can scrape the stuff off? It almost looks like that stuff you'd mix into paint to add texture. Sort of like sand.

Whatever you do, start with the smallest room first--don't tackle anything big until you know you can do it without losing your mind. If you have a walk-in closet or a bathroom that looks bad already, that would be perfect.

• Shelby McLane
    Original Author
    6 years ago