SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
navin0616

Calamondin - massive leaf drop & curling

Nav D
6 years ago
last modified: 6 years ago

Hi All - I'm a relative newbie to citrus gardening and bought a large calamondin tree (~7 feet) in August. I live in NYC and realized going into this that growing a citrus indoors given my lack of experience would be a challenge. Hoping for some help from more experienced people, as my tree isn't doing well.

At the time of purchase, the tree was in a 14" pot and was replanted in an 18" fiberglass/cement pot. It's placed in front of a east x SE facing window that gets plenty of light especially in the mornings and early afternoon. I watered the tree about once per week (ensuring dryness in the first few inches of soil first) with about 3.5 L of water each time. On 1 occasion, I used more water and noticed it coming through the drainage hole so I scaled back down to 3.5 L.

It seemed to be doing well at first, with plenty of fruit, including new ones growing, and dense foliage. I began to notice significant leaf drop (~10 leaves daily) after about a month, and the remaining leaves seemed to be very loosely attached (i.e. would very easily come off with any touching). I attributed to insufficient light as the days got shorter. I purchased a 4' grow light to supplement it, which seemed to stave further drop.