SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
2manydiversions

Double Drawer DW Owners: Likes and Dislikes, Practical?

2ManyDiversions
6 years ago
last modified: 6 years ago

Yes, I know there is an Appliance forum, but the Kitchen forum tends to focus on function, and that is my question/interest. Had my heart set on a Bosch or Miele DW, and was leaning heavily toward Miele due to their good repair (or lack of) history, drying cycle, and felt it’d last…

Until I noticed a recent reveal that included a Fisher Paykel Tall Double Drawer DW, and out of curiosity, searched comments on GW (they all seem to be older, not current) and watched videos. A light-bulb lit over my head, and I thought what a great idea! To be honest, I’d not seen them until we went to an appliance store and DH opened one. My immediate reaction was “fad” and “dark, small”, and I walked away disinterested – excuse my ignorance, please! I’m new to all this.

There was a recent thread about what we do and don’t put in our DW’s and I realized how long my list of items I don’t put in the DW was. Ugh! We hand wash way too many items, primarily because I use the same sauce pans, bake-ware, utensils, etc., daily. We run our current ‘door’ DW once a week, and it’s never full. When I saw the Fisher Paykel Tall DD DW, my heart leapt – that was our solution! Fill every day, empty every day using the top drawer; efficient to run daily; use the bottom drawer for items like plates, bowls, flatware to be washed once a week. We wish to retire and are targeting our renovations toward aging – the top drawer seems like it’d be easy to use. DH (who does the dishes) is enthusiastically on board…

I can live without a 3rd utensil rack – I like pulling out the utensil basket to unload anyway, and no way would DH ever neatly place each spoon, knife, and fork in a slot. We eat almost every meal at home, I cook a lot and love it.