SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
rantontoo

Advice Sought: Kohler Strive Stainless Apron-Front or Whitehaven

rantontoo
6 years ago
last modified: 6 years ago

I am hoping to get some "real use" advice on either of these sinks or other similar types that might help us decide between a Kohler stainless apron sink and the enameled cast-iron Whitehaven apron sink.

Both my husband and I are having a difficult time making a choice. We went back to the showroom today will tape-measure in hand and left still weighing the +s/-s. I have been contemplating this for almost two years and still cannot decide.

We have had a 33" double bowl, shallow, builder-grade sink for 36 years; I will be so happy to see it go. My husband has "sink" issues...he gets in a cleaning "mode" and pots clank/bang, water and gunk go flying everywhere as he scrubs away. I am hoping that a larger and deeper sink area will help contain his "cleaning" mess...we will see. The low divide feature is a good choice for how we use our sink.

I like the larger sink area in the Apron Strive and the durability of 16 gauge stainless. I worry about scratching the front apron part...scratches inside the sink do not bother me.

The Whitehaven is gorgeous, and I like the way the sides of the front slope in toward the cabinet face instead of the squared front sides of the Strive. The Whitehaven has less sink area, and I really worry about my my DH chipping the finish. I asked him if he could make himself be careful...didn't get much of an affirmative response on that. I also wonder how much of an issue staining and metal marks are???

If I really like something, I can make myself baby it...DH not so much.

Anything to share that might help us decide???

http://www.us.kohler.com/us/Strive-Self-Trimming-SmartDivide-35-1-2-x-21-1-4-x-9-5-16-under-mount-large-medium-double-bowl-kitchen-sink-with-tall-apron/productDetail/kitchen-sinks/1062774.htm?skuId=1062762