SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
agata_sobocinska

Rooting plumeria cutting - misleading "no watering rule"

Agata Sobocińska
7 years ago
last modified: 7 years ago

It's my first time rooting plumerias but I find the whole rule of "water once and then not water at all" completely misleading and I wanted to ask you about your opinion on it.

I brought two cuttings with me from Miami, they're not super long but I've seen shorter ones to root so I think they should be ok. Took the cuttings in the beginning of April, used rooting powder on them, put them in the right soil, in a warm area near the window (it's still too cold outside for them where I live) + if it's cloudy I put them under growing lights with my other plants so I make sure they get a good amount of warmth and light every day. They look all good , healthy and firm but nothing's going on so far since it's only 7 days since I potted them. The only thing is - the soil dries up really fast - i didnt water it heavily the first time , the pot wasn't soaking in water like some people like to do when they first pot their cuttings. I just added some water to the soil , mixed it up so its nice and moist (but not wet) all around and then put a cutting into the moistened soil. Now, 7 days later, the soil is completely dry and obviosuly I dont see any leaves yet cause it's too soon. Maybe its my living conditions that cause the soil to dry out faster or I dont know what...but my logic is - shouldn't I water it again a tiny bit just enough to bring the moisture back to the soil? I don't want to dry out the cuttings.