SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
quilter_robbi

Hello, I'm new to this page and we are starting to build a house

Robbi D.
7 years ago

I usually hang out on the quilting page (hence the BIG sewing room, LOL). We have built a few houses before, but never tried to lay one out myself. Using the criteria we need/like (family of 4), here is what an architect has designed for us. I'm playing around with some software myself, and I've made some changes, but you will get the general idea of what we're looking for.

Please ignore the kitchen layout, we're having that done by a kitchen designer (and I can't figure out all the pieces in the software to make it look right!).

The mudroom/pantry will have stairs that will lead up to over the garage storage. Otherwise, the living space is all on one floor.

We live in East Tennessee and have a fairly level lot that's about 3/4
acre. I'm sorry for the small size. I hope it will expand?

Please let me know what you think?? We plan on meeting with a contractor next week. We are still flexible on the layout and plan on going back to the architect with final changes.

Comments (55)

• Robbi D.
    Original Author
    7 years ago

Thank you for the comments! I need help thinking outside the box (or house as it may be?).

I'm a little confused on the 1-2 room deep comment? The great room and sewing room are only 2 deep? We can't make the house any more narrow since that would make it longer and would make it impossible to fit on the lot. We're both approaching retirement age and I really don't want stairs or a multi-level house. So, that is why this is all on one floor.

We laid out the house and had an architect "clean it up".

We are ok with a dark laundry and not concerned with the fabric dust. Right now, the laundry is next to the kitchen, which I really don't care for. We will be empty nesters soon, so next to our bedroom seemed like the logical place for the laundry.