SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
nattaroni

Is this a typical first home buying experience?

Taliah
7 years ago

I've spent 2 days crying because I feel this is so unfair/ there is nothing we can do. Main realtor has 2 other realtors show us homes. We find a home. Realtor tells us she is good friends with seller's realtor/ such a great person (Both with KW). But, we must go all in & only request 1% buyer credit. Home is DIY semi reno & the work isn't quality. Both bathrooms need to be gutted, patio wood is rotted/ not safe. We go 15K below asking to cover repairs. She insists we go all in or have no chance at home. She doesn't bring up comps & the comps we found are 300k for a fully reno'd, ready to move in home. She comes back with a sad story that the seller's wife left him, took the kids, he can't afford the mortgage, & needs to sell the home. He bought the home for 310k 10 years ago & is losing a lot of $ on this sale. I'm a full time student, 6 months pregnant, living on one income & that is over budget. She says what we are offering is what previous offer was, & he will refuse. We are fine with that. After a discussion ask 5k under, 1.5% buyer credit. He counters 1.5% buyer credit & 1k OVER asking. We say no. Realtor comes back saying seller's family will help him pay for his losses & he accepts. Home needs repairs to bring up to code. Buyer offers credit & we accept. Later find out we can't accept more credit because we have "maxed out". No one told us, & realtor tells us it is too late for repairs. Why? She scheduled inspections too far out. He agrees on late repair. Home needs eves replaced, smoke detectors, self-closing garage door hinge, sewer repair. Preparing to move in & repairs aren't done- we have closed. We are told repairs will be done before we move. Final inspection: nobody there to walk us through, the wood gate is broken, garbage everywhere, only 1 smoke detector, eves not done, sewer comes back with more repairs needed- additional 3k just for th