SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
thaasjr

kitchen design help needed

Tom
7 years ago

I need to get this kitchen layout nailed down so I can start electrical and plumbing. I've had a general idea of how I thought things should be laid out from the beginning home design phase. I am not a kitchen designer nor a cook so keep that in mind. I met with a custom cabinet company the other night and they suggested that I put the refrigerator in the back corner at an angle. We have given this consideration but have concerns of doors not opening all the way, crisper drawers being hard to access, etc. It seems that no one puts them at an angle in the corner and most don't recommend it. I also believe that putting it on the end as I had originally proposed keeps the traffic (3 small kids) out of the heart of the kitchen. I see lots of trips to the fridge from the dinette and deck area. Immediately behind this kitchen area is the family entrance from the garage. I am putting a bench and some shelves along the whole length of this. I can build a double wall to recess the refrigerator some. I could even design the bench and cabinets around a deeper recess area. I would like to not push the island any further than 4 ft from the counter as it will start encroaching on the living room. I drew up a pic but not sure it will upload. Here goes...

Comments (50)

• Tom
    Original Author
    7 years ago

OK, what's the trick? I scanned it and saved as a PDF. When I go to attach it through the photo button it won't attach. I've put a pic on here before so just need a memory jog! thanks

• jmarino19
    7 years ago

I don't think pdf works, at least it used to not work. I think there is a FAQ pape that should help.

• Related Discussions

Kitchen Design Help Needed - my Mom's Kitchen

Q

Comments (39)