SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
lee_mychajluk

Hi! New to lawn care, big lawn...

Lee Mychajluk
7 years ago

Hi all!

I'm kind of new to caring for a lawn (other than mowing it), and have pretty much inherited the responsibility for taking care of my family's summer home. It's about 2 acres of cleared land on a hill in upstate NY, with lots of pine and maple trees, plus a couple of big apple trees and a few smaller fruit and ornamental trees as well. I've decided I want to see what I can do about getting the lawn a bit greener and more consistent.

I'll be going up to the house in a couple of days, and will take some pH readings and spread a bit of lime around the house if needed as a first step.

Generally, we leave the grass clippings on the lawn, and haven't raked it in as long as I can remember, so de-thatching and maybe aerating are in the plan for early Spring, along with more lime as needed, followed in April by top-seeding (KBS mix) and spraying 2-4d to get a jump on the weeds (lots of dandelions). Later, around Memorial Day, I will likely spray some fertilizer, then take it from there.

Just wanted to start a thread to maybe pick up some tips along the way. Thanks!

Comments (57)

• dchall_san_antonio
    7 years ago

How much grass do you have in the 2 acres? Is there a house? Driveway? Patio?

How much grass is in the shade?

Pine needles might change the pH in the top inch of soil temporarily, but if the underlying mineral content is more basic, that acidity will wash away with the first few inches of rain.

Going with nothing but rainfall is a better choice than watering every day. Deep and infrequent is the mantra for watering grass, so that's a lot more like weather.

Mow at your mower's highest setting.

You should not put seed out in the spring. Spring is when the summer weed seeds are germinating. If you put grass seed out and water it like you're supposed to, that will bring out the weeds first and foremost.