SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
keitherize

Fear of Botulism in my canned muscadine Grape Juice?

keitherize
7 years ago

Hi all, This is my first time posting to the forums and also my first time canning. I will admit that I was nervous at first when deciding to can muscadine juice. I followed, (I thought) the instructions for "canning muscadine juice the easy way" to the "T". I rinsed my grapes,I washed and sterilized my jars in the dishwasher, I washed my lids and rings. What I did is, I placed my whole grapes and sugar in quart jars, and poured in the almost rolling boiling water to a half inch head space for each jar. I then placed all my jar in my pressure canner and pressure canned for 10 min at 5lbs of pressure. I believe it was almost 20 min though because once I turned off the heat, the regulator was still rocking for another 10 min. I think I had my heat too high? Anyways, All seemed well, After I removed my jars, I heard all of my lids "pop" that same evening after I was finished. The next day, I checked my lids, and they all are sealed properly and tight. So all is good right? I had visions of enjoying my muscadine juice for thanksgiving and sharing with my family. But, then I started thinking and researching more on canning, and I started seeing this scary term "Botulism". So I did more research about how imperative it is to follow safe canning procedures. So then I began to replay my process in my mind and found some discrepancies with what I did compared to "proper canning procedures". The one thing that is bothering me the most, is I DID NOT allow my pressure canner to vent a steady "funnel" of steam for 10 mins. Instead, I saw steam coming out over a period of 10 mins or more, but it was not steady. Another thing I DID NOT do is place my lids and bands in simmering hot water after washing, I just left them on the counter before placing them on the jars. And one more thing, the grapes I used were a few days old, they were still good, but the "fresh p