SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
rox146

Excalibure...update

rox146
7 years ago

I have only used it for the first time this year...BUT, notice a huge difference. Like the Queen of plumeria says ( Laura) ....what you use this year, you reap the benefits next year. Thank you FLORIDA COLORS. roxanne

Comments (20)

• PRO
    the_first_kms2
    7 years ago

I think quite a few of the old Gardenweb crew have started using it too. I'll switch a portion of my plants to it next year and use it side by side as I finish up my last 25lb bag of Nelson's Plumeria fertilizer. The only thing I am not sure about is the once per season application.

• rox146
    Original Author
    7 years ago

I bought the 9 month one, because out season is so long. I think Laura buys the 6 month one?

• Nancy
    7 years ago

Novice here but can someone tell me why to use this rather than the high phosphate fertilizer many recommend?

• PRO
    the_first_kms2
    7 years ago

Rox, it just seems to me no matter how effective time-release agents are the plant will initially have a fairly sharp upward curve in available nutrients followed by an ever decreasing amount culminating in a deficiency before end of season when nutrient uptake can make a difference in having a great start next year. Purely personal opinion on my part. Maybe its just a control or therapeutic thing but my making the rounds once a month with a tablespoon and bag of fertilizer is something that I am not wanting to forego.

Petunia, It's simply two different trains of thought and people AND products swear by the effectiveness of each method. I don't know if there is one right answer for everyone and encourage you to experiment to see what works best for you...all factors considered (your geographic location, weather conditions, time investment, comfort level, financial investment, end results, etc.).

• rox146
    Original Author
    7 years ago