SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
pensacolapi

The NEW Plan from the man, Doug Burke aka Architect Runner Guy

Pensacola PI
7 years ago

For those who have asked and been wondering, this is a follow up to my parent thread which can be found here: http://ths.gardenweb.com/discussions/4056449/building-and-where-to-save-money-ideas?n=128

The original intent of that thread was "Building and where to save money ideas...." I will be the first to tell you, I had NO CLUE on the adventure that was about to ensue. After several requests I posted up our floor plan and well, in short we were EXTREMELY fortunate that Doug aka Architect Runner Guy chimed in. I will be the first to tell you, I am NO designer and don't have any conceptual skills for doing such work and that is abundantly clear.

When we first started, the general feelings based on conversations were that architects were insanely priced and not for the "average working man". That thought stuck with us based upon previous conversations so we just took what we have been accustomed to and made some changes to make it work. If you look at that thread, the BIGGEST problem aside from the house layout was that we had a 3 car garage with a house attached.

Doug chimed in and gave us some input and thoughts of perhaps turning the house into a 2 story which, we had been kind of set against. So the wife and I revisited that thought and with the location of the lot directly across the street from Perdido Bay, the 2 story did have a lot of merit in that we could take advantage of the views with a 2 story. Something we did previously plan on with a roof top deck.