SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
lee_l_brittain

Weed control advice

Lee B
7 years ago

This is my first year with our garden in our new place and I am having serious issues keeping the weeds under control (crabgrass, nut grass, lambs quarter, johnson grass, etc.). I sprayed a lot of them with Roundup and it looks like it killed them but then they just came back to life a few weeks later, very frustrating. So I'm thinking about next year and trying to be more proactive on the front end. What pre-emergent herbicide would you recommend for vegetable gardens? I'm thinking I could wait until my seeds sprout, spray one post-emergent herbicide then come right back and spray with a pre-emergent herbicide. Hopefully with that strategy my desired plants would shade out most new weeds that would come up after the pre-emergent herbicide wore off.

Comments (26)

• digdirt2
    7 years ago

You are assuming a herbicide is the solution? Not in a vegetable garden. In gardens a hoe and lots of mulch is the solution, not herbicides.

Dave

• OldDutch (Zone 4 MN)
    7 years ago
    last modified: 7 years ago

Yours is the usual problem in a new garden location. It has been reseeded with all kinds of things for years, decades and even more. Many of the weed seeds can survive 50 years, just waiting for enough light to germinate; so there are a lot of weed seeds there just waiting. Best response is probably a deep mulch plus constant reweeding. One of the reasons that old gardens often seem to throw fewer weeds is that long periods of cultivation have reduced the reservoir of seeds and have eliminated the perennial ones like johnson grass. Up here that would be quack grass and creeping jenny. New gardens start from scratch. Make sure that any open soil, gets turned frequently enough that new weed seedlings get stopped before they get a decent start. Just note that every time you turn the soil, you turn up more weed seeds. Eventually there won't be so many to worry about.