SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
lcdollar

Canning question ?

7 years ago

My Wife and I are canning salsa for the first time, instructions say to leave 1/2 " of headspace in the jar.

Is that from the top of the jar or the top of the fill line on the jar ?

Comments (51)

• 7 years ago

Hey, glad I can be your first customer :)

Wife and I are real noobs at this .

• 7 years ago

Also, last weekend my Wife and I canned some salsa and we did not leave 1/2" from the top, but from the fill line, which equated to leaving about an inch of headspace.

So we put the jars in the boiling water bath, and set a timer for 20 minutes, waiting to hear the jars " pop ". But they did not pop at 20 minutes , it took longer, like another 10 minutes before we heard the jars " pop " .

I'm thinking the extra headspace is the reason it took longer ???

But IDK, I'm new to this .

• Related Discussions

Carnitas pressure canning question

Q

Comments (6)
    You would only partially cook and then can in the pan juices. Instructions read: Precook meat until rare by roasting, stewing, or browning.... Then after opening the jars you can either complete the cooking, liquid and all, in a skillet - keep in mind they will have finished cooking in the PC so only browning is needed - or you can drain off the liquid and brown them well in a small amount of fat for eating. See instructions linked below. Follow only the Hot Pack instructions. I would skim off as much fat as possible before canning. Overnight in the fridge works well and then reheat it all after skimming for canning. Pork canning of any kind tends to produce more fat in the jars and may have some sealing problems as a result so remove as much of the fat as possible. If it was me I would freeze the skimmed fat to use it for browning them after opening the jars. Hope this helps. Dave Here is a link that might be useful: Canning chunks of pork NCHFP
    ...See More

URGENT: Canning Question (canning in process)

Q

Comments (7)