SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
webuser_604616

Fenix NTM Countertop opinions needed!

8 years ago

Hello! You folks were so very helpful with my gaggenau appliance questions I thought I'd see if anyone here has worked with, installed or spend any time using the Fenix Countertop material. We have seen the samples.
Thoughts? Do you like them? Thanks!

Comments (49)

  • 8 years ago

    Oh! Perhaps there is two similar product manufacturers? This product states it is made in Italy by Arpa. Hmmmm! Thank you!

  • Related Discussions

    Ready to choose the back splash for my two-tone kitchen!

    Q

    Comments (50)
    Ack, sorry again for my very delayed reply. As usual, LIFE got in the way - how annoying! ;) rebunky: I was so disappointed by how pricey the Calacatta tiles were that I didn't even want to take photos of them! Wow - I didn't know that $20/sq ft was on the low end for Calacatta. I think that nixes it for me then. :( namarie: I know your kitchen so well! ;) I didn't realize your tiles were Calacatta Gold - I always thought that CG had more brown tones than grey? I did some Googling and I see lots of tiles with the same colours as your tiles so it looks like I assumed wrong! I think your choice to do tile with very narrow grout lines makes for a nearly-slab-like look! I'd love to get the slab look too but it is WAY too pricey, and I wonder how the heck to remove a slab BS should I ever tire of it?? Kitchen Magic: I did really like the look of some mini bricks I saw at the tile stores I visited. I like how the ones like in your photo have muted colours so it gives me a multi coloured backsplash without being too busy. cpartist: how gorgeous are those cement tiles?? I've never seen cement tiles before and it looks like the design possibilities are endless, if you get them with some graphic design printed on. smm5525: Good idea. I will do that instead of dragging all of you along with me as I think aloud!! Sorry for that... I just really love to see all the different ideas you all share! mayflowers: Hmm... I agree that I can't have both the BS and the counters look busy. The London Grey is staying so I think I'll be going with a solid BS for most of the kitchen... but I'll still consider putting in a more "busy" mosaic tile somewhere, most likely in the hutch area. :) barncatz: I agree - I love the tiles everyone's shared! It helps me figure out and narrow down what I want for my BS tile.
    ...See More

    Kungsback black Ikea kitchen cabinets

    Q

    Comments (100)
    No direct experience with Bodorp. I’d strongly suggest biting the bullet and buying a drawer or door for your own testing in your own lighting. While several people have mentioned they can’t handle the smudges and fingerprints on Axstad blue, my partner and I are fine with how they look dirty and our ability to clean them. I suspect a lot of it has to do with where light is entering the kitchen (because it is the glare off the oil that matters most), sight lines, and how “perfect” of a house you keep. I went into the testing very suspect that the cabinets would work for us, but there we are.
    ...See More

    Need counter top and back splash Advice for a Modern Remodel

    Q

    Comments (21)
    I think we are moving in the direction to do the island, perimeter counters and backs splash (all the way up the wall) in the same White Santorini Quartzite. Any feedback on this? Im sensitive to adding too many different materials into the mix. Is this too much of one thing?
    ...See More

    NTM fenix worktop

    Q

    Comments (2)
    did you end up choosing it or something else? I saw HD and Lowes started carrying it as sheet laminate. Defintiely a better feel/look than typical laminate so it is interesting for the price point
    ...See More
  • 8 years ago

    I havent been able to find anyone who has actually had this product installed on a countertop. Would really like a first hand opinion.

  • 8 years ago

    It is not Chinese. It is from Italy as stated above. I know the product very well and in the process of doing two kitchens with it right now. We are using this on the cabinet fronts (doors, drawers and panels) but not the countertop. The product is extremely durable and for an ultra matte look there is nothing better. However even though it can be used on horizontal surfaces for heavy use I would probably go with a quartz or the newer ceramic materials like Dekton or Neolith. I plan on doing some tops with this and will use a "miter-fold" method of cutting it for a seamless edge. On the cabinet fronts we use a laser edge banding to achieve a nearly invisible edge seam also.

  • 6 years ago
    Did you ever use the Fenix NTM as a counter top? We are also curious about it and will be getting samples in soon. Everything I’ve read is positive but I haven’t been able to connect with anyone here in the states that has actually used it.

    Thanks!
  • 6 years ago

    I am also interested in this material for a countertop!

  • 6 years ago

    +1

    Not sure if I want to be the guinea pig.

  • PRO
    6 years ago

    Contact the local vendors for the product so you can visit a local displaying showroom.

    http://www.fenixforinteriors.com/en/contacts


  • 6 years ago
    last modified: 6 years ago

    I've seen it in person at trade shows. I want to get feedback from someone who's lived with the product rather than a salesperson.

    It's a little concerning that there doesn't seem to be a single person on Houzz who has given it a shot as a counter surface. I do know of at least one person here who used it for cabinets and loves it. But as we know, horizontal surfaces are subject to a lot more abuse than vertical ones.

  • 6 years ago
    Uscpsycho, I agree! I like the material but I have searched high and low and can’t find anyone who has used it. And their sales team is very frustrating!
    Formica makes a nearly identical material called Infiniti. The samples are very similar. I’m thinking of using the Formica version.
  • 6 years ago
    last modified: 6 years ago

    Have you been able to find any reviews of people with the Formica version? If they are identical products I'd be inclined to use the Formica version but would still like to see some real world reviews.

    I'm curious what kind of warranty Formica offers on that product.

  • 6 years ago
    I haven’t seen any reviews of the Formica version, but, I’m inclined to go with them as I’ve used their products and found them reliable and at least they pick up the phone and answer questions! The warranty for the Formica Infiniti is one year.
    The sample looks great and has the matte finish I’m looking for and the anti-fingerprint tech works! Fingerprints and water just magically disappear!
  • 6 years ago
    I installed the Formica Infiniti in the matte black this week! It’s great. The first time I wiped the counter I panicked because while it was still wet it looked awful- streaky and weird water spots and I instantly thought I had made a mistake...1 minute later when the water dried the counter looked perfect! It’s crazy but the wet spots and streaks etc just vanish! The matte finish is beautiful!
  • 6 years ago

    Thanks for the update!

  • 6 years ago

    The Formica Infiniti does not have the same look as Fenix NTM. It is not as smooth nor as matte. It has a slight stipple finish and compared side by side the Fenix has a richer depth and a better color selection. The Wilsonart product is much closer in look but both are imitations of the original Italian brand Fenix. I work with this product almost everyday and have access to all the other brands but wouldn't switch. Having said that I'm still not convinced I would use this on a countertop in a high traffic area.

  • 6 years ago

    I have experience with it and would not recommend it. I redid the kitchen last year and my designer and I chose a fenix countertop, the solid half inch one. It’s hard to explain but it’s as if it has a memory or it’s porous, it absorbs everything. . Anything you deposit on the countertop, be it a glass or your water jug, it leaves a ring, a trace. If you wet it by washing, you’ll see that ring, and when it dries, it disappears. But at the time, I was not feeling the best and didn’t wash the countertop immediately all the time. Don’t judge, I was sick and overly tired. So it was cumulating, everything that went on the counter left a mark and it started to show, even when dry. It’s a kitchen counter! So grease from cooking on the stove, oil from the olive oil bottle, food, water ring. It became quite marked and stained. Every time I washed it, I had to do it all about 3 times to be sure it was all clean and even wash cloth didn’t leave a mark. It left a mark if I didn’t wipe evenly. We went for the warranty and had it changed, hoping it was a bad batch. The distributor was not very cooperative and ended up giving us new countertops for the whole kitchen but refused to pay for the installation. And it took forever. They put heavy duty stickers on top probably to make sure we put the right side up. Being the product it is, I still have not removed all the marks left by the glue... Now, I am more successful cleaning it up as I use it,mostly every time but stil, water splashes around the sink quite normally and I wipe as I go but it still leaves water stains and the water glass still leaves a ring that I see while wet. I am more successful at keeping it nice and clean but the odd thing still leaves little marks that will eventually disappear after I wash it again and again and again. Last night, I was wiping those ecological beeswax wraps used to wrap food leftovers and I didn’t think, I did it on the countertop, I had speckles of wax left on the countertop after, hard to remove. We’re looking into installing quartz countertops on top. I haven’t decided yet... I might opt instead for a very large wood cutting board for the area where I cook and avoid spilling food and oil on the counter while I cook.


  • PRO
    6 years ago

    I have never, yes, I used the word "never", gotten that ^ callback on any top I've ever installed.

  • 5 years ago

    Same experience with fenix countertop as loulydeco. I had my new kitchen installed about a year and a half ago, I liked the effect of having a monoblock kitchen, where the top has the same material as the kitchen cabinets. I have a 3.6m by 1.2m black kitchen island, and I can assure you that the fenix worktop drove us crazy. Even a glass of water would leave a ring when placed on the surface. The supplier changed the top for us this week since they claim that it was a bad batch.. Still, I am not convinced.. Will see how this one goes.. As a side note the kitchen installer than tried using acetone on the damaged worktop so that he could give it a try, and it actually worked.. Still I will not be using acetone on my new work top, close to my food, anytime soon..

  • 5 years ago
    Thanks to everyone sharing their experiences with this. Very helpful to anyone looking for honest reviews! Please continue to share relevant updates.
  • 5 years ago

    This question might be best answered by jdesign_gwbut anyone can feel free to chime in.


    I am looking to refinish the cabinets in my bar and I am still drawn to this type of material. No counters, just vertical surfaces so hopefully the horror stories people have experienced won't apply to me. There is a new Infiniti ColorCore 2. How does this compare with Fenix or the Wilsonart version? What is the Wilsonart product called so I can try to do some research on it?


    You mention laser edge banding. That sounds like the ideal way to do it, but what is the downside of not cutting edges this way? I ask because I have had so many problems with cabinet people. I've got one guy I trust to do this job but he doesn't have this type of high end equipment. Is it going to be a mess? I don't know about Fenix or Wilsonart but the new ColorCore 2 has through-body color to help cuts look seamless.

  • 5 years ago

    I have probably ten different materials that have a super matte finish. Lamimate, acrylic, UV paint etc. I think the Fenix is the best but others are nice. The Infiniti is my least favorit. It has a slight stipple texture to it. Fenix also comes in through color 1.2 mm. but it's going to cost more and shipping will be high because it can't be rolled.

  • 5 years ago

    I didn't know there were so many options. Can you give me your next two or three favorites after Fenix?


    Does through body color make that much of a difference?


    This is for my bar cabinets which are brand new and have a wood veneer on them. There were some issues but the guy who built them moved away and I had someone else "fix" them. Train wreck. He made everything worse and caused new issues. It's at the point where I don't mind starting from scratch. I think a laminate is probably the easiest way to get to the destination because it can go right over the wood veneer. I definitely don't want to paint because that is going to be the most difficult road. Acrylic is probably too thick without making major modifications.


    Thanks!

  • 4 years ago

    I have Fenix black work top and it drove me mad but if you use a mild detergent leave for a minute and wipe with a damp cloth then dry it with kitchen roll , it comes up great Good luck everyone . it works

  • 4 years ago

    Hello! I have a report on the black matte Formica Infinit!
    Had it on the countertop on the island in my kitchen. It was getting so stained and marked and weird that my husband said yesterday that he couldn’t stand it any longer and wanted to replace.
    Well. I started digging and found this

    https://www.formica.com/es-es/-/media/formica/emea/document-library/care-and-maintenance/formica-infiniti-worktops/infiniti-cleaning-guide.pdf

    I scrubbed the countertop with a melamine sponge (aka Magic Eraser) and dish soap and water. Guess what? It works! Pretty much looks brand new now. I feel so silly for not knowing this before!

    Anyway- you might want to test it out if you are having trouble! :)

  • 4 years ago

    Yes thank you! I still have the fenix countertop but they did replace it as the first one was staining quite a lot. This 2nd one doesn’t stain as much but it still stains. We did try the magic eraser and it does wonders. However I only use is sparingly as I’m very much into non toxic and ecological cleaning products. But when I have a small stain that doesn’t go away, then I use the magic eraser on a given spot.

  • 4 years ago

    I try to use non-toxic cleaners too and am planning on using the magic eraser once a month or so and stick to soap and water the rest of the time. And no food contacts the counter so I’m not as worried about the magic eraser!

  • 4 years ago

    You could try Norwex magic erasers - non toxic

  • 3 years ago
    last modified: 3 years ago

    Does anyone know we have to use plywood under Fenis countertop for support or is it strong by itself?

  • 3 years ago

    We had fenix worktops installed by Wren in the UK 18 months ago. The sold it to us virtually indestructible it wasn't cheap

    . They have changed the island worktop twice due to scratches, last time a year ago, and now we have 2 small deep gouges which just seem to appear. I've asked Wren to send an expert to examine it but at the moment they are saying it is just fair wear and tear, although they've not come to see it. I've asked them to reconsider.


  • 3 years ago

    Thanks we wont be using Wren for our kitchen now

  • 3 years ago

    Mike since then I wrote to Wrens MD. They offered to replace the island top with like for like or they'd refund the cost of the worktop only. We decided to cut our losses and took the money. We've replaced it with a quartz top from a specialist marble company. The refund only paid for part of it but its worth it.

  • 3 years ago

    when we had our kitchen installed when we were on holiday. when we came home we were surprised to see the words Fenix everywhere on the worktops when you looked at it from a certain angle. its like the plastic cover left some like of stain on the worktop which has never come off. wren did not want to know and 2 years later they have never sent anyone out to look at it.

    the magic eraser works wonders, but also dont drop a cup out of a cupboard onto it, left a huge chip, i'd have preferred the cup to break not the worktop be ruined.

  • 3 years ago

    We complained at ghe shop to the manager, they eventually offered to refund the cost of our island worktop, we replaced it with a quartz top from another supplier, we paid the difference, we love it. We'll never use and never recommend Wren again. Poor company in my opinion.

  • 2 years ago
    last modified: 2 years ago

    I also have a bad experience with this worktop as well. i wouldn ´ t recommend it at all. The reasons were described just above the comments by loulydeco….

  • 2 years ago

    We had dark blue Fenix fronted cupboards and drawers installed in our kitchen..i DO NOT recommend Fenix in a kitchen. It shows each and every splash and mark and looks terrible. The cupboard and drawer fronts have to be wiped down really carefully at least once a day. The maintenance is time consuming and constant. I really dont think Fenix is suitable for a kitchen in which people actually cook and do dishes. We are looking to replace it as soon as possible.

  • 2 years ago

    I have had matte black fenix countertops for nearly 4 years. it can never look clean without watermarks or rings.


  • 2 years ago



  • PRO
    2 years ago

    My kitchen (cabinetry - fronts of drawers and doors) is made of Fenix NTM - Gray.

    The best decision ever. Durable, nice soft ultra matte touch, extremely easy to clean.

  • 2 years ago

    Hi all, Seems like Fenix is very needy. Needing cleaning immediately after use essentially. Having said that my wife and I are possibly going to use it for our worktops and was wondering if anyone could advise or show pictures on what seams look like in Fenix. Many thanks in advance.

  • 2 years ago

    Bad idea for work tops especially with seam. Great for fronts if edge banded properly. I work with it on a daily basis.

  • 2 years ago

    @disantodesign Thanks for the tip. Can you provide any pics??

  • 2 years ago

    Here's a few from my Instagram page.

  • 2 years ago

    Just seen this after i've ordered all of my worktops in Fenix..... Feeling worried now.


  • 2 years ago
    last modified: 2 years ago

    What colour did you chose? my matte white is good. my matte black can come clean with magic eraser.

  • 2 years ago

    Black

  • 2 years ago

    I wouldnt be too worried to be honest, Stuart. we were considering the commodor verde colour for a while but then were put off by all the comments. i decided to order a couple 400x600 sheets that i taped to our current worktop to test what all the fuss was about. i can say yes they do require more consistent cleaning than most other worktops because if you miss a spot youll notice it no doubt. What i found works best is spray with a gentle cleaner ( we use koh) then magic sponge then a dry cloth. That works the best from our experience. After these little tests i would go ahead with fenix with the understanding there is more consitent cleaning needed which wouldnt bother me personally. Its just a matter of how on top of it you want to be so it looks its best. Hope that gives a bit of insight. i find it strange there are no real world youtube reviews of this stuff.

  • 6 months ago

    Hi. I fitted Fenix Ntm worktops and cabinet fronts about 4 years ago. Got them from Plykea. We have white worktops and very dark blue doors. I installed it all myself. Here’s what I’ve learned:

    Its very matte and is soft and warm to the touch and feels and looks very premium especially in dark colours.

    As a cabinet & drawer front its amazing.

    As a worktop it‘s less so and DO NOT get it in white unless you want to develop serious cleaning OCD. It does mark easily and holds onto stains etc very stubbornly. You can rub with a regular cloth but they wont go. What you need (and this is my biggest tip which took us about a year to figure out) is lots of MAGIC ERASER SPONGES. We buy them by the truckload and they are the only thing that cleans this material and effortlessly at that, you can scrub pointlessly with a regular cloth or sponge and get nowhere but one light rub with a magic eraser removes anything.

    In white the other issue is deeper scratches. If you break through the white layer by dropping a knife or something else then you reveal the dark base material which then highlights the damage. It will drive you crazy. I’m going to experiment with some white worktop repair kits to see if I can minimise these marks which obviously are inevitable on any worktop that isn’t solid stone.

    In short, we should’ve gone for another material if we wanted white worktops but we wouldn’t change the cabinets and fronts as they look as good as the day we got them. Also Plykea did a great job on their side and combined with the ikea cabinets that are actually very good you get a premium looking kitchen for a very good price.

  • PRO
    6 months ago

    White Corian has none of those problems.

  • PRO
    4 months ago

    We have the Fenix blue fes solid worktop, intergrated sink, and spashback, and laminated doors in our kitchen. we love it. using a standard cloth etc can leave marks, however just simply use magic sponges with water/eco product, you dont even need to dry with towel afterwards amd it comes back to its lovely matt finish everytime. If you want a matt sleek look for tour kitchen, fenix is fab.