SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
bry911

Moved: Our architect process.

bry911
8 years ago

Originally posted in http://ths.gardenweb.com/discussions/3622780/new-construction-advice-comments?n=68 moved as requested.

My architect and I are not working together in any way similar to the suggestions of people I respect, and I am starting to wonder if I have chosen poorly or if I have chosen well and the architect is just adapting to my wants and needs.

Some of the things that make me a difficult client is that I have extensive experience with project costing and a warped sense of value. I will give some insights as to what I am looking for in a house and then our work so far.

First, I have no budget. I would prefer a house cost $200,000, I am willing to spend 10 times that. What I want for the extra money is efficiency, in other words I want every dollar spent over $200,000 to get me more than the previous dollar did. The problem with this is it starts making for a huge house. A lot of the costs in a house are actually mixed costs (part fixed and part variable) and efficiency is easy to get by just making it bigger. The challenge is getting good value without ending up with too much house.

Second, I have an opinion on everything, but I don’t always know it until I see it. My typical opinion is, “what a waste of money”. This is not to say people who like these things are wrong, they are just not me. To give you an example of this, I have seen many great designers separate the bathtub into its own bump-out, my response to this very popular design choice is, “so I am building a foundation, 3 walls and a roof over a bathtub, which will look gorgeous and I will not use.” However, I can be convinced this is good, the architect only need say, “It will cost an additional $3,000 but will increase the appraisal value by $6,000.”